7 Things You Might Wish You Didn’t Know About Me

12Dec08

No, not really. Well maybe. I got 7-things-meme’d by @LisaHoffmann (2 Fs 2 Ns), and since I always fill out every single MySpace survey I’ve ever seen and passed on every chain letter email I’ve ever received, I’ll go ahead with this one too. Who wants to break a perfect record right?

If I deemed you worthy enough to pass this glorious honor on to you, and put its continued existence in your very hands (you! have! the! power!), please follow these care and feeding guidelines:

* Link to your original tagger(s) and list these rules in your post.
* Share seven facts about yourself in the post.
* Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names and the links to their blogs.
* Let them know they’ve been tagged

Buckle your seatbelts, here we go.

1 – I went to high school with Harry Connick, Jr.
I was in 8th grade at Jesuit High School (“THE” High School) in New Orleans, Harry was a senior. He used to play lunchtime concerts from time to time in the school auditorium. He sang, danced and acted in all the school musicals. The director of the “Phililectic Society” was my “Speech” class teacher, so Harry regularly came and hung out in the class with us. Yeah, I know I’m cool. You didn’t have to say it out loud just now, but thanks just the same. It’s always nice to hear.

2 – Sailing is one of my favorite hobbies.
I used to crew a 35′ C&C cruiser/racer sloop for competitive racing on Lake Pontchartrain in New Orleans out of the Southern Yacht Club, the 2nd oldest yacht club in the US, which burned to the ground after Hurricane Katrina inundated the city. The longest race I was ever in was New Orleans to Gulfport. The longest sailing trip was Pensacola to New Orleans. My first cruise was on the Star Clipper, and I’ve sailed on an America’s Cup yacht, the U.S. Stars and Stripes.

3 – I was a cheerleader in college.
What? What are you laughing at? What’s so funny?

4 – I’ve been to China.
I participated in a study abroad program while working on my MBA at Tulane, and chose Beijing over Mexico City and Prague. I spent 2 weeks in Beijing at Tsinghua University, and then 4 weeks in Hong Kong at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. The two places could not have been more different. I saw the Great Wall, but went the opposite direction over to where it had not been restored and stood in the ruins. That experience alone is worth the trip to China. In Hong Kong (still a British protectorate at the time) I met more people there from New Zealand than from any other country. Went on a weekend boat trip on a junk piloted by a Scottish man whom I could never understand, and learned to love curries.

5 – I was married once before.
Interestingly enough, I first met @dotamy, who was 17 at the time, on the day I got engaged to my first wife. Do the math.

6 – Not only do I enjoy Pig Destroyer,
but I like to sing along. Out loud. In church. Just kidding about that last one. Also Duran Duran is my 2nd favorite band of all time. #realthing #shutup

7 – #PBR08 is my meme.
Search it yourself. http://twitter.com/93octane/statuses/885870760

Hope you enjoyed this little trip down trivia lane. Now it’s time to pass this most honorable torch to:

1 – @dotamy (Amy)
2 – @UpsideUp (Laurie)
3 – @vinnie (Vinnie)
4 – @MikeLangford (Mike)
5 – @AstroUt (Aaron)
6 – @shashib (Shashi)
and, 7 – even though @AshPash already called him out, there’s WAY more than 7 things you don’t know about @benmarvin (Ben)

9 Responses to “7 Things You Might Wish You Didn’t Know About Me”

  1. 1 ashpash

    brillz man. Very cool. china 🙂 and Harry Connick 🙂 Yeah…..*rawr*

  2. Philalectic Society? Isn’t that the stamp collecting group? Oh, wait. That’s philately.

    Well, at least that cheerleader bit explains a few things.

    “Gimme a P!”
    “Gimme a B!”
    “Gimme an R!”

    Arrrrrgh!

  3. 5 Jeb

    I’m laughing because I know what kind of cheerleader I was.

    • 6 93octane

      Oh, man. I totally forgot you were on the team with us!!! I remember your initiation… 😛

  4. 7 Jeb

    Oddly enough, I don’t. *eek*


  1. 1 7 Things You Might Wish You Didn’t Know About Me
  2. 2 7 Things You Might Wish You Didn’t Know About Me « Eric Guerin's Inane Ramblings

Leave a Reply

